Fleet 50 Annual Meeting & Awards Banquet

Fleet 50 Annual Meeting
Our Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet was this past Saturday, February 11, 2012. A special thanks to Rose Gentile for hosting all 50+ of us. It was a great turnout and a chance to meet some new members who will be joining us on the water when the Spring Series starts.

2011 Fleet Championship
We had an excellent season with a total of 70 races run. On any given Sunday there were different winners with several skippers earning that elusive first bullet over the course of the season and some hard fought races playing the shifts, covering, or gaining that crucial inside overlap.

Congratulations to Rick Welch, Aaron Boesenecker, Piercarolo Brunino and Lisbet Kugler of Team Sinistra! They were the model of consistency putting Sinistra on the line for all 70 races and finishing with an impressive 1.7 average. Team Shadowfax of Nabeel Alsalam, Craig Huzway, Stefano de Leo finished second 2 tenths behind with an average of 1.9. Team Resistance of Frank Gallagher, Mladen Karcic, Will Summers placed third with a 2.9, Jeff Storck, Bruce Heida, Becky Mach of Team Ariel were forth with an average of 4.3 and Eric Hakanson and Team Ferris Bueller placed fifth with a 5.9 average.



It is no surprise that Rick Welch earned the Iron Skipper and Aaron Boesenecker earned the All Weather Sailor. The respective awards recognizing the Skipper and Crew with the most days on the water racing. These guys certainly earned it competing in all 70 series races on Sinistra.

Ron Buchanan won the Bloody Rudder for competing in the most away regattas.

Crew Awards:

Craig Huzway is the High Impact Crew as the middle crew of Team Shadowfax. His spinnaker trimming helps with their consistent top finishes.

The Crew of 14376 (Brian Ganjei, Will Phillippe, and Alex Thomson) are this 2011’s Best New Crew in their first season racing 14376 (still without a name).

Meghan Rafferty is the Most Improved Crew racing on Ferris Bueller this season.

Skipper Awards:

Eric Hakanson is our Skipper of the Year for his support of the fleet and commitment to racing.

Chris Kozel is Most Improved earning his first bullet driving String Theory. His finishes steadily continued to improve over the season.

Mr. Congeniality is Jeff Storck. You can always count on Jeff saying hello in the mornings while rigging boats and for some advice at the end of the day.

Will Phillippe was recognized as the Team Spirit Skipper for making sure the new addition to the Fleet 14376 spent as much time as possible racing and working to become more competitive over the season.

Bungle Bucket goes to Red Fehrle in his own words “Borrowing from Kenny Rogers: You got to know when to point up, know when to duck ‘em, know when tack away, and know when to run, You never count your rounding till the mark is past your transom, there’ll be time enough for cheerin’ when the rounding’s done.” Red is to be commended for his Corinthian sailing spirit

New Slate of Officers for 2012
We are looking forward to the 2012 racing season. Fleet 50 will be hosting the Dixie Districts this year and we are looking forward to having the district join us this year to race on the Potomac with our nation’s capital as a backdrop.

Your new officers are:
Fleet Captain: Aaron Boesenecker
Treasurer: Bobby Astrove
Lieutenant for Racing: Eric Hakanson
Scorer: Jeff Storck
Co-Secretary: Brian Ganjei and Will Phillippe
Webmaster: Chris Kozel
Special Olympics Coordinator: Joe Warren

We are seeking volunteers serve as a regatta chair for the Potomac Cup and the Dixie Districts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *